Wagga Wagga, NSW

I am 14 years old and I live in Wagga Wagga N.S.W. It has been nearly 5 years that I have been in Australia with my family. I am from Afghanistan, but I was born in Pakistan. I have 7 people in my family: Mum, Dad, 2 sisters, 2 brothers and myself. I am also the oldest child in my family. My Family and I speak Pashto, and it is very hard because in Wagga Wagga, there are not a lot of families who speak Pashto. 

My first role as a carer is to translate to my parents and I am the biggest help to my family. For example, going shopping is very important and difficult because my parents got polio which is a problem with their legs and I have to look after them a lot because I am the oldest. 

My second difficult role is at home cleaning, washing and a lot around the house. As the oldest I have the duty to look after my little brother and sister for example, give them showers, feed them and a lot more.

I like to hang out with my friends and play soccer, which is the biggest thing ever for me but unfortunately I don’t play in a team. Also I am very helpful and kind, especially to the ones I love. 

The young carer bursary program supported me with my education, for example getting me a laptop to study more and some books. I am working so hard with my studies so I can get a good mark and also to improve my education. You might have found this part sad when I was in Pakistan. I did not get the opportunity to study for many reasons. Firstly my Dad did not earn a lot of money for my school fees. Another reason is that there were not a lot of schools for girls to study, and was also too dangerous to study. I am very lucky to live in a wonderful country and have a wonderful opportunity to study. My promise is that I will always try my best and give all my ability to my studies and work. 

I hope whoever read my story found it interesting and good.